Skip to the content

Step By Step Guide To: Getting Your FL Life Insurance License

Getting your insurance license is the first step to becoming an insurance agent in Florida. Life insurance and all other insurances require a license to sell in any state in the US or its territories.

 Read this in its entirety. Then follow this step-by-step: DO NOT SKIP ANY STEPS.

  • Insurance Pre-License Education: You must now take your Florida insurance pre-license education courses. These courses are created specifically to give you the skills you need to pass the test.
    • Florida requires sixty (60) hours of pre-license education for the Life and Variable Annuity 2-14.
    • Visit Family First Life’s Pre-Licensing private site:
      • Click enroll now then find Insurance English Pre-Licensing Bundle courses
      • Click on Florida and select FL Life Pre-licensing by clicking “$199.00
      • Click Go To Cart and then apply discount code: fflaria-AFKM8a
      • Click Proceed To Checkout and then click Sign up
      • Create a New Student Account and only enter the required student information.
      • Review & Verify the student information, this will complete the registration process.
      • welcome email will be instantly sent to help get started.
    • You will receive a certificate upon completion of the course. Keep this certificate, as you will need it when taking your exam.
  • License Application: Once you have completed your pre-licensing education, you are now ready to apply for your license.
    • The fee for an online application is $50 plus a $5 License ID fee, totaling $55.
    • The application process is located within Florida’s MyProfile account system.
      • This system will essentially be your home base for all license actions from this point forward.
      • After receiving your license, this is where you will take most other actions regarding your license and appointments.
  • Fingerprinting and Background Check: Florida requires that all insurance license applicants provide fingerprints prior to licensing.
    • Giving your fingerprints will initiate a background check. If you have any prior misdemeanors or felonies, this may affect the outcome of your licensing efforts.
    • Fingerprinting must be completed through IdentoGO. You will schedule an appointment at one of the locations in Florida, and they will electronically record your fingerprint information using LiveScan (as opposed to ink and paper).
      • The fee for fingerprint services is $48.05 plus the local Florida sales tax. Your fingerprints will be submitted automatically to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
  • Florida Insurance License Exams: The next step after submitting your application and having your fingerprints taken is to pass the insurance exam.
    • This is a proctored test, so you will be in a controlled environment with a person watching you.
      • For people who haven’t tested in a situation like this; they should work on taming their nerves prior to sitting for the exam.
    • The fee for each attempt at the exams is $44.
      • One exam per combined lines of authority.
    • When you show up, you must have a photo ID and any other documents that the testing facility has asked you to bring.
    • The Life and Variable Annuity 2-14 exam comprise one hundred fifty (150) questions, and you have two hours and forty-five minutes (2:45 hours) to complete the exam.
    • A total score of 70% is required to pass each exam.
    • You have a limit of five (5) attempts at each exam per year.
    • Insurance license tests are intentionally difficult, but not impossible by any means. You should study to the point of comfortability with the information before you attempt the test.
      • Failing the exam isn’t the end of the world, but keep in mind that you will need to pay the fee each time you attempt the test.
    • You may register to take your exams and find more information on the Pearson Vue Florida Insurance Testing page.
  • Application Review: Once you have submitted your application and have filled all the other requirements, your license application will be reviewed by the state.
    • Your background check will also be reviewed.
    • If everything is acceptable then they should issue your license quickly.
    • If there are any items from your background check that need to be reviewed, it may slow down the process of issuance.
      • If this is the case, the state may contact you to provide context to the issues they have run into.
    • Once the review has been completed, you should receive a notification in your MyProfile  If there is any more information that you need to provide the state, you will be notified of this in your account as well.
    • You may also use the MyProfile account as a Florida license lookup tool and print your license.
  • Congratulations: You’ve done the work, put in the time and effort, and now hold the key to your own success! We’re proud of you! Take five (5) minutes, celebrate, and let us know so we can get you contracted!


Prices and info are subject to change based on state regulations.

For the latest info, please go to the DOI website.